• 253-858-7472

Building Excellence Award Winners

2017 Winners were announced at the
SIPA Annual Meeting in Austin,TX
February 20-22, 2017

The full complement of winners, by category, are posted below. 

2017 Building Excellence Awards Winners:


Many thanks to the very innovative designers, builders and SIPs manufacturers who submitted their projects for the 2017 competition.



Thanks to your 2017 competition judges:

  • Shilpa Sankaran, Executive Director, Net-Zero Energy Coalition
  • Chris Fennell, BuildingInsight, LLC
  • Archie Landreman, Regional Director North Central at Woodworks

Overall Competition
Winner - Parfitt Residence, Anacortes, WA
Runner up - Justin Residence, Mendota Heights, MN

Winner - West River Vet Clinic, Hettinger, ND
Runner-up - Dale Louwagie Shop, Cottonwood, MN

Commercial / Industrial / Institutional over 10,000 sqft
Winner - Al's Pheasant Ranch, Emery, SD

Commercial / Industrial / Institutional under 10,000sqft
Winner - Ideation Design Group, Phoenix, Az
Runner-up - TIppet Rise Fine Arts Center Olivier Barn, Fishtail, MT

No entries in 2017

Affordable Housing
Winner - Modernista House, Pompano Beach, FL
Runner-up - Tarrant County Housing, Ft Worth, TX

Single Family Houses over 3,000sqft
Winner - Parfitt Residence, Anacortes, WA
Runner-up - Fox Residence, Poteau, OK
Honorable Mention - Sony Boy Lane Residence - John's Island, SC

Single Family Houses under 3,000sqft
Winner - Justin Residence, Mendota Heights, MN
Runner-up - Ludwig Residence - Dallas, TX
Honorable Mention - Quail Bauer Project, Sioux Rapids, IA

Winner - Peace Church, Rochester, MN
Runner-up - Panama City Beachfront Renovation


Need to see more?  The links below will take you to other year winners:

2018 2017 2016 2015
2014 2013 2012 2011
2010 2009 2008 2007

SIPA Website Sponsors