• 253-858-7472

Race to Zero DOE 2017 Competition Winners

The 2017 Race to Zero Student Design Competition had 39 teams from 33 collegiate institutions, representing four countries, competing to design cost-effective, zero energy homes for mainstream builders. Six collegiate institutions had multiple teams, and two teams consisted of multiple collegiate institutions.

The Race to Zero encourages students to work with builders, developers, community leaders, and other industry partners to meet stringent design requirements and create marketable, affordable concepts.



2017 Winning Teams

Grand Winner

Ryerson University and University of TorontoToronto, Ontario, Canada
Future Cities Collective

Overall Competition

First Place

Ball State University—Muncie, Indiana
Team Woodridge

Suburban Single-Family Housing Contest



Second Place

Appalachian State University—Boone, North Carolina
Appalachian [In]sight

Suburban Single-Family Housing Contest


First Place

CEPT University—Ahmedabad, India

Urban Single-Family Housing Contest


Second Place

Illinois Institute of Technology—Chicago, Illinois

Urban Single-Family Housing Contest


First Place

Ryerson University and University of Toronto—Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Future Cities Collective

Attached Housing Contest


Second Place

University of Minnesota Twin Cities—Minneapolis, Minnesota

Attached Housing Contest


First Place

Georgia Institute of Technology—Atlanta, Georgia
Team AtoZ

Small Multifamily Housing Contest

Second Place

Miami University—Oxford, Ohio
Race to Zero MiamiOH

Small Multifamily Housing Contest



2017 Finalist Collegiate Institutions


The collegiate institutions were:

  • Appalachian State University

  • Ball State University

  • CEPT University

  • Colorado School of Mines

  • Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Hope College

  • Humboldt State University

  • Illinois Institute of Technology

  • Illinois State University

  • Louisiana State University

  • Miami University

  • Northeastern University

  • The Pennsylvania State University

  • Prairie View A&M University

  • Purdue University

  • Ryerson University

  • Syracuse University

  • Universidade Federal do Paraná

  • University of Colorado Boulder

  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities

  • University of New Haven

  • The University of North Carolina at Charlotte

  • University of North Texas

  • University of Portland

  • University of Toronto

  • The University of Vermont

  • University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

  • Vanderbilt University

  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

  • Washington University in St. Louis

  • Weber State University.


The support of these sponsors helped make the Race to Zero event possible:

  • American Chemistry Council – Spray Foam Coalition


  • DuPont Building Knowledge Center

  • Mitsubishi Electric U.S., Inc., Cooling & Heating Division

  • National Association of Home Builders


  • Owens Corning

  • Plastics Pipe Institute

  • Spray Polyurethane Foam Alliance

  • Structural Insulated Panel Association.

SIPA Website Sponsors